TARRC's Dr Alan Muhr wins Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award

TARRC's Dr Alan Muhr wins Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award

TARRC’s Head of Engineering Design, Dr Alan Muhr, has won one of the ACS Rubber Division’s Science & Technology Awards – the most prestigious awards available to rubber professionals. He was presented with the Melvin Mooney Distinguished technology Award at the 187th Technical Meeting April 27-30, 2015 at the Hyatt Regency Greenville; SC, where he also presented a paper – Stress-strain Behaviour of Rubber: Applications of Models.

Edward L. Miller, Executive Director – Rubber Division, ACS commented ‘We are pleased to honour Dr Alan Muhr with the prestigious 2015 Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Awardfor exhibiting exceptional technical competency by making significant and repeated contributions to rubber science and technology. His contributions to our great industry are valued and so deserving of the recognition he receives through this award’.

The award is named after Melvin Mooney, developer of the Mooney viscometer and of the Mooney-Rivlin hyperelastic law.

Dr Muhr (pictured right with the Rubber Division's 2014 Chair-Elect, Terry Delapa) is the latest in a long line of TARRC scientists who have won some of the most prestigious awards from the Rubber Division of the American Chemical Society.

Our scientists have also won Rubber Division's:

Alan Muhr - Melvin Mooney Award 2015
John Dunn - Melvin Mooney Award 1993
Alan Roberts - Charles Goodyear Medal 2014
Karl-Alfred Grosch - Charles Goodyear Medal 2007
Graham Lake - Charles Goodyear Medal 2003
Alan Thomas - Charles Goodyear Medal 1994
Ronald Rivlin - Charles Goodyear Medal 1992
Alan Gent - Charles Goodyear Medal 1990
Leonard Mullins - Charles Goodyear Medal 1986
Adolf Schallamach - Charles Goodyear Medal 1982

Alan Gent - George Stafford Whitby Award 1987

Ronald Rivlin - International Rubber Science Hall of Fame 2008
Leonard Mullins - International Rubber Science Hall of Fame 2001
Adolf Schallamach - International Rubber Science Hall of Fame 1998
L.R.G. Treloar - International Rubber Science Hall of Fame 1987
Graham Moore - International Rubber Science Hall of Fame 1980
Ernest Harold Farmer - International Rubber Science Hall of Fame 1969

William Watson - Fernley H. Banbury Award 2002

Crispin Baker - Best Symposium 1993

Alan Roberts - Best Paper 1992
Crispin Baker - Best Paper 1989
Crispin Baker/Douglas Barnard/Maurice Porter - Best Paper 1969

Andrew Tinker/John Loadman - Honorable Mention for Original Contribution 1988
Crispin Baker/Ian Gelling/Roland Newell - Honorable Mention 1984
Douglas Barnard - Honorable Mention 1978

One of TARRC’s senior scientists, Dr Pamela Martin, also presented a paper at the Technical Meeting - Visualizing Tyre Wear.

If you would like further information on the papers presented, please contact:

Dr Alan Muhr amuhr@tarrc.co.uk and Dr Pamela Martin pmartin@tarrc.co.uk


August 2015
Tun Abdul Razak Research Centre © MMXV